Explore More at wakehealth.edu
Skip to main content

EndNote: EndNote Online

Three versions of EndNote Online

There are three versions of EndNote Online (also known as EndNote Basic, and formerly called EndNote Web)

  1. EndNote Online for Medical Center students, staff, and faculty is available FREE through the Web of Science database, available at the Carpenter Library home page.  This version allows you to create only one EndNote database (Library).  This free version provides over 3000 output styles but does not allow you to modify output styles or automatically add pdfs to your EndNote Library.
  2. EndNote Online enhanced edition is created ONLY when you have purchased EndNote Desktop (current version is X7) and is created when you sync your primary Desktop Library to the EndNote Online version.  This version will contain pdfs and work to sync your primary Desktop account to two additional computers and to share your library with other users.
  3. EndNote Online Basic is totally free to anyone, but only allows 21 output styles. It is available at http://www.myendnoteweb.com.  If you leave the Medical Center, you can keep your free EndNote Online Library, but you will not have all the output styles.

This article and chart compare the versions.

 

Questions?

Here's how to get more help with EndNote:

        

Create an EndNote Online Account

  • The Medical Center offers a free version, EndNote Online, available to Medical Center users from the Library's Home page by creating an account within the Web of Science.  
  •  ONLY if you have purchased the full Desktop Version of EndNote, you can create a free upgraded account from the desktop version of EndNote.  An upgraded EndNote account includes more storage space and the ability to attach PDF's to your references.

To create a free upgraded account after you have installed EndNote Desktop:

  1. Open EndNote Desktop on your work computer.
  2. Go to Edit, Preferences, Sync, Enable Sync.
  3. Choose Sign Up. Enter your e-mail address. 
  4. Fill in the form. Choose I Agree and Done.
  5. You will now be able to go to EndNote.com and Login with the credentials you created.

Sync Your Online Library with EndNote Desktop

With EndNote X7, EndNote will sync all of the references and groups from ONE primary Desktop Library to a cloud backup as EndNote Online. Please note that all of the references in your online library will be synced to the desktop and all of the references from the desktop will be synced to your online account. After syncing, all changes you make to your online or desktop accounts will appear in every other synced library. If you delete a reference in one library, it will be deleted in all synced libraries.

To sync, open your Desktop EndNote library.  To avoid duplicates, you may want to start with an empty library unless you want to mix your online references with your desktop library references. Click the blue and white sync button, fill in the e-mail address and password for your EndNote Online account. Select OK.  If you do not have an EndNote Online account, you will be prompted to create one.

EndNote on the desktop connects to the online account and copies all of your online references to your desktop library and all of your references from the desktop to your online library. This may take a few minutes depending on the size of your library. All of your groups should be synced as well.

Video tutorial

Build an EndNote Online Library - for users of the "free" Medical Center EndNote

EndNote Online provides for ONE library of references that can be organized into groups. Users can collect references through the Collect tab by doing an Online Search, adding a New Reference manually or using the Import References tool which allows users to import a group of references from a database such as PubMed. Note: Users can also download the Capture Reference tool which is located under the Options tab under Download Installers. This tool lets users download references from websites, including PubMed, one-by-one.

 

Online Search: To perform an online search, go to the Collect tab, select Online Search. Use the pull down menu to select PubMed and click connect. Search PubMed, select citations, and Add to Group.

 

 Video tutorial

 

 

 

Manual Reference: To add a reference manually (website, book chapter, etc), go to the Collect tab, choose New Reference, pick the Reference Type from the drop down menu and fill in the citation information. Choose Save

 

 

Import References: If you perform a database search, you might need to import your references to EndNote Online. Some databases allow you to automatically export references to EndNote Online.  In other cases, will need to save the references from your selected databases to a Text File. In PubMed, you will select your references, choose Send To, File, select Citation Manager and Create File. Choose Save. The file will save as citations.nbib.

Next, go to the Collect tab, choose Import References, select Browse, and attach the citations.nbib file that you downloaded from PubMed. Your Import Option is PubMed (NLM). Choose which group you wish to save these references to. This process is slightly different for every database.

 

 

Capture Reference Tool: The Capture Reference tool can be used with both EndNote Online and the desktop version of EndNote. However, you must have an EndNote Online account to download the Capture Reference tool. To install the Capture tool, login to EndNote, go to the Options tab, and select Download Installers.  Drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar (also known as "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Toolbar"). In some browsers, you may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark This Link."

To use it, browse to a page you like and click the Capture Reference button in the Bookmarks bar. The Capture Reference window will open. Follow the instructions in the window.

Video tutorial

 

Cite in Word with EndNote Online

Once you've created your EndNote Online library, you can start creating bibliographies in Word. If you do not have the EndNote X7 tab in Word, you will need to download it from your EndNote Online account.‚Äč

To download the Cite While You Write Plug-In (this will allow you to cite your references in Word), go to the Format tab, and click on Cite While You Write Plug-In.  You will need to do this for each computer that you are using for EndNote Online.

Choose Download Windows or Download Macintosh and run. Follow the instructions. The tab should appear in Word.

If you are using both the desktop and online version of EndNote, you can switch between EndNote and EndNote Online in Word. To do this, go to the EndNote tab in Word, select Preferences, click on the Application tab, and use the pull-down menu to switch the application to EndNote Online. You will be asked enter your EndNote Online username and password. 

 

 Video tutorial

 

Share Groups with EndNote Online

EndNote Online allows users to share a group or groups of references with other EndNote Online users.

Share your groups by clicking on the Organize tab, choose Manage My Groups and check the Share box. Next, click on the Manage Sharing button and add the e-mail address of the person you wish to share your group with. You can allow that person to ‘read only’ or ‘read and write’ to the group. You can only share your group with someone who is also has an EndNote Online account.

 

Video tutorial

 

Carpenter Library | Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center | Contact Us