Knowledge Guides: PA Curriculum: Textbooks

Textbooks

Required and Recommended Textbooks

The textbooks listed below are ones required or recommended by your faculty. Textbooks with hyperlinked titles will take you to the online full text. Print only titles will have the call number hyperlinked taking you to the online catalog where you can check to see if it is available.

For additional resources, check the Carpenter Library's website

Clinical/Diagnostic Skills

Essential Clinical Procedures by Richard W. Dehn; David P. Asprey
ISBN: 9780323624671
Publication Date: 2020-03-06
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory Third Edition by Michael Laposata
ISBN: 9781260116793
Publication Date: 2018-12-25
Learning Radiology by William Herring
ISBN: 9780323878173
Publication Date: 2023-03-23
Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy Updated Edition by Edward C. Weber; Joel A. Vilensky; Stephen W. Carmichael
ISBN: 9780323625326
Publication Date: 2018-04-23
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by Malcolm S. Thaler
ISBN: 9781975185831
Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Grant C. Fowler
ISBN: 9780323476331
Publication Date: 2019-04-12

Clinical Reasoning and Inquiry-Based Learning

Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care by Joyce E. Dains; Linda Ciofu Baumann; Pamela Scheibel
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: WB 141.5 D133a 2020
ISBN: 9780323676625
Publication Date: 2020
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Cecil Essentials of Medicine by Edward J. Wing (Editor); Fred J. Schiffman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323722711
Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by Frederic Martini; Judi Lindsley Nath; Edwin F. Bartholomew; William C. Ober; Claire E. Ober
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QS 4 M386f 2024
ISBN: 9780137854318
Publication Date: 2023-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by Talmadge E. King; Margaret B. Wheeler; Alicia Fernandez; Dean Schillinger; Andrew B. Bindman; Kevin Grumbach; Teresa J. Villela
ISBN: 9780071834445
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Pathophysiology by Kathryn L. McCance; Sue E. Huether
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QZ 4 P297.6 2019
ISBN: 9780323402811
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.

Foundations of Medicine and Surgery

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Pathophysiology: the biologic basis for disease in adults and children by Kathryn L. McCance; Sue E. Huether
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QZ 4 P297.6 2019
ISBN: 9780323402811
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.

Fundamentals of Basic Sciences

Anatomy: A Regional Atlas of the Human Body by Clemente
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QS 17 C626a 2011
ISBN: 1609133080
Publication Date: 2011
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. Gilroy; Brian MacPherson; Jamie Wikenheiser; Michael Schuenke; Erik Schulte; Udo Schumacher
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781684202034
Publication Date: 2020-06-25
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by Frederic Martini; Judi Lindsley Nath; Edwin F. Bartholomew; William C. Ober; Claire E. Ober
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QS 4 M386f 2024
ISBN: 9780137854318
Publication Date: 2023-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
ISBN: 9781975138707
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Gray's Atlas of Anatomy by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell; Richard Tibbitts; Paul Richardson
ISBN: 9780323636391
Publication Date: 2020-02-18
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by Peter H. Abrahams; Jonathan D. Spratt; Marios Loukas; Albert-Neels van Schoor
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780702073328
Publication Date: 2019-03-06
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9780323793735
Publication Date: 2022-04-08
Photographic Atlas of Anatomy by Johannes W. Rohen; Chihiro Yokochi; Elke Lutjen-Drecoll
ISBN: 9781975151348
Publication Date: 2021-04-15

Integrated Biomedical Sciences

Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care by Joyce E. Dains; Linda Ciofu Baumann; Pamela Scheibel
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: WB 141.5 D133a 2020
ISBN: 9780323676625
Publication Date: 2020
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by Frederic Martini; Judi Lindsley Nath; Edwin F. Bartholomew; William C. Ober; Claire E. Ober
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QS 4 M386f 2024
ISBN: 9780137854318
Publication Date: 2023-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by Talmadge E. King; Margaret B. Wheeler; Alicia Fernandez; Dean Schillinger; Andrew B. Bindman; Kevin Grumbach; Teresa J. Villela
ISBN: 9780071834445
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Cecil Essentials of Medicine by Edward J. Wing (Editor); Fred J. Schiffman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323722711
Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Pathophysiology: the biologic basis for disease in adults and children by Kathryn L. McCance; Sue E. Huether
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QZ 4 P297.6 2019
ISBN: 9780323402811
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.

Patient Care

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
use Chrome browser

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2020-08-26

eMurmur University- Link will be sent by Faculty

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice, Sixth Edition by Marie A. Chisholm-Burns; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Patrick M. Malone; Jill M. Kolesar; Kelly C. Lee; P. Brandon Bookstaver
Call Number: WB 330 P535.5 2022
ISBN: 9781260460278
Publication Date: 2022-03-10
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.

Graduate Project

Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, Second Edition by Rajender Aparasu; John Bentley
Call Number: QV 20.5 P957 2020
ISBN: 9781260441789
Publication Date: 2019-10-16
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
*FOR STUDENTS IN RESEARCH CERTIFICATE PROGRAM

Physician Assistant Journals

Journals

Style Guides

How to cite a canceled or online-only conference due to COVID-19: https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/canceled-conferences

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Citing Medicine: The National Library of Medicine Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors,editors, and publishers in formatting bibliographic citations.
CITI Training
You will need to go to the CITI website and create a user ID and password. The system will then ask you to affiliate with an institution. It is very important that you choose Wake Forest School of Medicine. If you choose Wake Forest University, that is the Reynolda Campus which requires different modules and you will have to re-do our training. Once you have chosen WFSM as your affiliation, you will be asked to select your curriculum.
How to read a paper
How to write a literature review
How to Write Papers by George Lundberg
MedScape (will need to create MedScape username/pwd)

Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by Robert B. Taylor
ISBN: 9783319701257
Publication Date: 2018-01-09

Physician Assistant Organizations

PA Organizations

American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA)
The only national professional association that represents all PAs across all medical and surgical specialties and provides comprehensive support and advocacy for physician assistants so that they may, in turn, provide patients with increased access to quality, cost-effective health care.
Association of Neurosurgical Physician Assistants
The Association of Neurosurgical Physician Assistants (ANSPA) was formed in 1990 and currently has over 250 members nationwide.
Association of Physician Assistants in Cardiovascular Surgery
Promotes the educational and professional interests of cardiothoracic and vascular Physician Assistants. The Association's primary objectives are to promote clinical academic excellence for its members and to enhance quality medical care to patients.
National Commission on Certification of Physicians (NCCPA)
Students can locate all pertinent information regarding earning and maintaining certification.
North Carolina Academy of Physician Assistants (NCAPA)
Promotes and represents the physician assistant profession in North Carolina through education, quality services, and advocacy of optimal health care.
North Carolina Medical Board
Students can find NC Practice Laws for PA’s
North Carolina Medical Society
Membership in the North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) makes you a part of a dynamic network of 11,000 medical students, residents, practicing physicians, retired physicians and physician assistants who represent organized medicine at its best. NCMS members enjoy powerful representation on legislative issues, managed care resources and consultation, and discounts on personal and professional products and services.
Society of Emergency Medicine Physicians Assistants
The Society of Emergency Medicine Physician Assistants (SEMPA) is the national organization representing the 5,000 physician assistants (PA) currently practicing emergency medicine.

PA Jobs

PA Job Opportunities Database

PA Jobs

Databases

Databases A - Z

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane exists so that healthcare decisions get better. During the past 20 years, Cochrane has helped to transform the way health decisions are made. We gather and summarize the best health evidence from research to help you make informed choices about treatment. Cochrane is for anyone who is interested in using high-quality information to make health decisions. Whether you are a doctor or nurse, patient or carer, researcher or funder, Cochrane health evidence provides a powerful tool to enhance your healthcare knowledge and decision making.
ERIC
Citations and abstracts of journals on education and of related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center.
Nexis UNI
Contains full text access to a wide range of news, country profiles, business and company information, legal research databases, and some general medical/health and reference sources.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s.

PubMed
Provides access to MEDLINE, a database of citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services within PubMed include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. PubMed also provides access to molecular biology databases in the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez retrieval system with components for searching DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes.
Web of Science
(1945-present) Contains three databases (Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences), which together index over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Science Citation Index Expanded indexes over 5,300 journals in the sciences, including the following areas: agriculture, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, math, medicine, physics and veterinary science.

A to Z list of Titles

A - G

Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care by Joyce E. Dains; Linda Ciofu Baumann; Pamela Scheibel
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: WB 141.5 D133a 2020
ISBN: 9780323676625
Publication Date: 2020
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Anatomy: A Regional Atlas of the Human Body by Clemente
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QS 17 C626a 2011
ISBN: 1609133080
Publication Date: 2011
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. Gilroy; Brian MacPherson; Jamie Wikenheiser; Michael Schuenke; Erik Schulte; Udo Schumacher
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781684202034
Publication Date: 2020-06-25
Basic Skills in Interpreting Laboratory Data by Mary Lee (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781585285495
Publication Date: 2017-07-30
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Essentials of Pathophysiology by Carol Porth
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QZ 4 P851e 2015
ISBN: 9781451190809
Publication Date: 2014-10-20
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology by Frederic Martini; Judi Lindsley Nath; Edwin F. Bartholomew; William C. Ober; Claire E. Ober
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QS 4 M386f 2024
ISBN: 9780137854318
Publication Date: 2023-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley II
ISBN: 9781975138707
Publication Date: 2020-04-15
Gray's Atlas of Anatomy by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell; Richard Tibbitts; Paul Richardson
ISBN: 9780323636391
Publication Date: 2020-02-18

H - Z

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Learning Radiology by William Herring
ISBN: 9780323878173
Publication Date: 2023-03-23
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by Peter H. Abrahams; Jonathan D. Spratt; Marios Loukas; Albert-Neels van Schoor
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780702073328
Publication Date: 2019-03-06
The Medical Interview: Mastering Skills for Clinical Practice by John L. Coulehan; Marian R. Block
ISBN: 9780803612464
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Arthur F. Dalley II; Anne M. R. Agur
ISBN: 9781975154066
Publication Date: 2022-04-01
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by Malcolm S. Thaler
ISBN: 9781975185831
Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Pathophysiology: the biologic basis for disease in adults and children by Kathryn L. McCance; Sue E. Huether
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: QZ 4 P297.6 2019
ISBN: 9780323402811
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Grant C. Fowler
ISBN: 9780323476331
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
Pharmacotherapy: a Pathophysiologic Approach by Joseph T. DiPiro; Robert L. Talbert; Gary Yee; Barbara Wells; L. Michael Posey
Call Number: WB 330 P536 2014
ISBN: 780071800532
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice, Sixth Edition by Marie A. Chisholm-Burns; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Patrick M. Malone; Jill M. Kolesar; Kelly C. Lee; P. Brandon Bookstaver
Call Number: WB 330 P535.5 2022
ISBN: 9781260460278
Publication Date: 2022-03-10
PRINT BOOK ONLY Check Catalog.
Photographic Atlas of Anatomy by Johannes W. Rohen; Chihiro Yokochi; Elke Lutjen-Drecoll
ISBN: 9781975151348
Publication Date: 2021-04-15