Databases
- Lexis/Nexis - Business Sources and Newspapers - Subscription access to a wide range of news, country profiles, business and company information, legal research databases, and some general medical/health and reference sources.
- PubMed - Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Covers over 5,600 international journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Primary source for technical medical information. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: Daily.
Federal Register
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. It is updated daily by 6 a.m. and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays. GPO Access contains the Federal Register volumes from 59 (1994) to the present.
Federal Regulations
- Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments - The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) regulate quality laboratory testing. Although all clinical laboratories must be properly certified to receive Medicare or Medicaid payments, CLIA has no direct Medicare or Medicaid program responsibilities.
- Code of Federal Regulations - The codification of the general and permanent rules is published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis. See alsoeCFR, unofficial and updated daily.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services - Features a comprehensive list of downloadable copies of proposed and final federal regulations which affect health care providers.
- Congress.gov - includes data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate and the Government Printing Office.
Publishers
- American Hospital Association Online Store - Offers books, journals, and CD products on a wide array of topics. The site also includes publications and products from its affiliated organizations and associations so users may browse materials by these associations.
- American Association for Physician Leadership - Career development information and resources, detailed information about their publications, and classes.
- American Medical Association Bookstore - A comprehensive listing of the electronic and print publications from the American Medical Association. Materials include journals, books, and other electronic materials. Search the site by using broad subject categories, or perform a specific search using the provided search box.
- Wolters Kluwer Law & Business - Information provider for attorneys, business professionals, and law students; covering both U.S. and international topics.
- American College of Healthcare Executives - The publishing arm of the American College of Healthcare Executives. Site contains a comprehensive listing of materials from Health Administration Press as well as discount opportunities and instructions for those interested in submitting materials for publication.
- Joint Commission Resources - Disseminates information regarding accreditation, standards development and compliance, good practices, and health care quality improvement. JCR is a subsidiary of The Joint Commission (formerly the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations - JCAHO).
Standards
- American National Standards Institute - A private, non-profit organization (501(c)3) that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services - Contains Conditions for Coverage (CfCs) and Conditions of Participation (CoPs) that health care organizations must meet to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid programs. These standards are used to improve quality and protect the health and safety of beneficiaries. Part of CMS.gov.
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - The leading federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.
- The Joint Commission (formerly the Joint Commission on Accreditation for Healthcare Organizations - JCAHO) - An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Their website provides a comprehensive guide to help individuals learn more about the safety and quality of The Joint Commission accredited health care organizations and programs throughout the United States.
- North Carolina Health and Human Services - The largest agency in state government, responsible for ensuring the health, safety, and well being of all North Carolinians; providing the human service needs for fragile populations like the mentally ill, deaf, blind, and developmentally disabled; and helping poor North Carolinians achieve economic independence.
- National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Established to help assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by providing research, information, education, and training in the field of occupational safety and health. Part of CDC.gov
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) - A member agency of the Department of Labor responsible for developing and enforcing workplace safety and health regulations.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) - Responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
State and Federal Laws
- North Carolina Medical Society - The largest physician organization in the state, their site contains a membership directory, meetings information, special societies within the organization, an accreditation program for members, and a news section with health news updates, which frequently contain legislative information as it relates to healthcare.
- North Carolina Department of Justice - The official site of the Attorney General of North Carolina. This site contains information about state laws as they pertain to consumer protection, health, the do-not-call registry, citizens' rights, and the environment. The site also has a lengthy list of resources available to the public at large.
- North Carolina State Government - NCgov.com is the official website of the State of North Carolina government. This site contains a comprehensive list of all government agencies, facts and figures about North Carolina, and also sections specifically designed for parents, students, and visitors to our state.
- USA.gov - The United States government's official web portal serving as a gateway to US government information on the web. Users can search millions of state and federal government documents on a wide variety of topics such as: health, benefits and grants, consumer protection, and countless other pertinent topics.
Statistics
- FAQ: Medical Statistics (from the National Library of Medicine) - This guide gives an overview to finding health statistics on a given topic. It covers general resources for finding local, state, national, and international statistics.
- FedStats - Track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more. Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies.
- Health, United States - A report on national trends in health statistics. It is produced annually by the National Center for Heath Statistics (produced by the CDC) and contains a wide variety of user information such as a highlights section, chartbook, and 148 trend tables for the current year's volume.
- Modern Healthcare - Last issues of the year include "By the Numbers" sections.
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) - The nation’s principal health statistics agency. For a quick listing of the most sought after health statistics, Fast Stats A-Z is a good starting point on this site. Part of cdc.gov.
- State Health Facts - Online statistical resource funded by the Kaiser Family Foundation, contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
- PubMed - Use sn[sh] to search statistical data, although many articles may contain stats that may not be included in this hedge. PubMed covers over 5,600 international journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Primary source for technical medical information. Coverage: 1966-present. Updated: Daily.
- United States Census Bureau - Online portal to the most current US Census information.
North Carolina Health Statistics
- LINC Log Into North Carolina - LINC is the most valuable Web resource for NC statistical data. It contains over 1200 data items from state and federal agencies. This site also contains historical data and projections from 1960s to 2030; state, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage; definitions and help screens; customized report capabilities; preformatted topic reports, including census profiles and other valuable statistical data. This site is continually updated to incorporate newly released data.
- NC State Center for Health Statistics - Responsible for data collection and research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.
