Knowledge Guides: Clinical Pastoral Education: Research Resources

Pastoral Care Journals of Interest

Chaplaincy Today
Published from 1998-2012 by the Association of Professional Chaplains, this journal connected all who do the work of chaplaincy by giving voice to the individual expression of our collective experience in order that we may more effectively care both for others and for ourselves.
Health & Social Care Chaplaincy
Aims to assist healthcare chaplains and healthcare workers to provide effective spiritual, religious and pastoral care within the contemporary healthcare setting.
Journal of Health Care Chaplaincy
The Journal of Health Care Chaplaincy publishes peer-reviewed, scholarly articles based on original research, quality assurance/improvement studies, descriptions of programs and interventions, program/intervention evaluations, and literature reviews on topics pertinent to pastoral/spiritual care, clinical pastoral education, chaplaincy, and spirituality in relation to physical and mental health.
Journal of Pastoral Care & Counseling (JPCC)
The Journal of Pastoral Care & Counseling is a peer-reviewed journal that advances theory and professional practice through scholarly and reflective literature on pastoral and spiritual care, counseling, psychotherapy, education, and research.
Journal of Religion, Spirituality, & Aging
The Journal of Religion, Spirituality and Aging is an interdisciplinary, interfaith professional journal in which the needs, aspirations, and resources of aging constituencies come clearly into focus. Combining practical innovation and scholarly insight, the peer-reviewed journal offers timely information and probing articles on such subjects as long-term care for the aging, support systems for families of the aging, retirement, counseling, death, ethical issues, and more .
Journal of Religion and Health
Journal of Religion and Health explores the most contemporary modes of religious and spiritual thought with particular emphasis on their relevance to current medical and psychological research.
Journal of Spirituality in Mental Health
The Journal of Spirituality in Mental Health is an interdisciplinary professional journal (retitled from American Journal of Pastoral Counseling to better reflect its broader scope) that is devoted to the scholarly study of spirituality as a resource for counseling and psychotherapeutic disciplines.
Pastoral Psychology
Major articles providing a forum for discussion of the work of ministry, illumined by comments from other professions and professionals, by behavioral science research and theory and by theological awareness and critique.
Reflective Practice: Formation & Supervision in Ministry
Reflective Practice is an Annual Journal that Provides a Framework to Promote Critical Reflection on Formation and Supervision of Ministry in Various Contexts and from Diverse Faith Traditions.

Research Databases

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, essays in multi-author books, and book reviews, covering nearly all areas of international religious research.
Coverage: 1949-.
Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
Includes all historical religions and the religious systems of the East and the West. The entries are written by religious scholars, are signed, and include bibliographies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.