Explore More at wakehealth.edu
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instruction: Instruction

Library instruction and support

Description

Due to COVID-19, most classes are offered virtually. Contact the instructor for details.

All classes are free and available to all WFSM and WFBH students, faculty, and staff 

All classes are provided on a group or one-on-one basis

Prior arrangement is required for group classes

Individual Instruction

Biosketch and NIH Publications Assistance - Dianne Johnson - 336-716-3690
Clinical Resources - Dianne Johnson - 336-716-3690
Copyright Management - Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078
Embase - Mark McKone - 336-716-3108
EndNote & EndNote Online - Mark McKone - 336-716-3108
Faculty Orientation - Dianne Johnson - 336-716-3690
Impact Factors - Dianne Johnson - 336-716-3690
Learn the Library - Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078

Literature Searching (Beginner and Advanced) - Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078
Mastering E Journals + E Textbooks - Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078
ORCID - Dianne Johnson - 336-716-3690

PRIMO - Mark McKone - 336-716-3108
Publishing Strategies - Dianne Johnson - 336-716-3690
PubMed Medline -  Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078
PubMed Alert Service -  Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078
Resources for Nurses - Brandy Hardy - 336-716-0078
Systematic Reviews -  Mark McKone - 336-716-3108
Web of Science - Mark McKone - 336-716-3108
Zotero - Mark McKone - 336-716-3108

Classes

Note: Carpenter Library is no longer offering classes on Microsoft Office  products (Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, and Word). Please contact HR for any training questions or needs for Office.

Class Descriptions 

CINAHL Complete

The library offers a monthly scheduled class on CINAHL Complete. This class covers searching techniques and strategies, assessment of search results, and CINAHL subject headings. Individual instruction is also offered by appointment. To schedule a class use this calendar and for individual instruction contact: Brandy Hardy- bcwatt@wakehealth.edu.

Ektron Intranet
This training is required for working within the Content Management System. Topics covered include:  Differences external vs. internal sites; Adding Base Content; Uploading Files; and Adding Images. Focus is on building and editing pages. To obtain appropriate permissions to update websites, please contact the Web Team at (external) webteam@wakehealth.edu or (internal) intranet@wakehealth.edu. Kim McBride, kmcbride@wakehealth.edu  

EndNote
Carpenter Library teaches EndNote monthly classes and by appointment.  Topics covered include setting preferences, building the EndNote library, sharing an Endnote library, collaboration, and cite while you write (cwyw). Schedule classes using this calendar. Mark McKone is available for questions and instruction, mmckone@wakehealth.edu.

Learn the Library
This class is geared toward new Wake Forest Baptist Health employees and students. The librarian can come to you, but if held in Carpenter Library on the Hawthorne campus, it will include a tour. And it can also include a tour of the Resource Center in the Bowman Gray Center for Medical Education Building downtown. Attendees will also become familiar with the Library's website, resources and policies. Brandy Hardy, bcwatt@wakehealth.edu

Literature Searching (Beginner and Advanced)

This class teaches fundamental components of literature searching in the health sciences through a practical learning experience. It can be tailored to help professionals, clinicians, researchers, and/or students improve the overall quality and effectiveness of their literature searches. This class is offered virtually to groups and individuals. To schedule a class or individual instruction contact: Brandy Hardy- bcwatt@wakehealth.edu.

NIH Publication and Biosketch Compliance
The NIH Public Access Policy requires that investigators submit final peer-reviewed journal manuscripts to PubMed Central upon acceptance for publication and that these manuscripts are made publicly available no later than 12 months after the date of publication. The Library will offer training covering the steps to compliance focusing on the creation and management of the MyNCBI, MyBibliography. In addition, we offer assistance in creating a SciENcv, another MyNCBI tool for creating and maintaining the NIH Biosketch.To schedule a class or individual instruction: contact Dianne Johnson - dyjohnso@wakehealth.edu.

ORCID
ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-driven effort to create and maintain a registry of unique researcher identifiers and a transparent method of linking research activities and outputs to these identifiers. It is a hub that connects researchers and research through the embedding of ORCID identifiers in key workflows, such as research profile maintenance, manuscript submissions, grant applications, and patent applications.  We offer assistance in creating an ORCID account and linking to all your professional activities. ORCID=Open Researcher and Contributor ID.

PRIMO
Mark McKone - Learn how to search for materials at all Wake Forest University libraries from one search engine. PRIMO is a our new database/catalog/library search engine that includes records for books, articles, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, videos, music, images, manuscripts, standards, maps, and more - all with one search.

PubMed

The library offers a monthly scheduled class in beginning and advanced PubMed. This class covers searching techniques, assessment of search results, search strategy analysis, customizing PubMed, MyNCBI and the MeSH database.  Individual instruction is also offered by appointment. To schedule a class or individual instruction contact: Brandy Hardy- bcwatt@wakehealth.edu.

Zotero
Mark McKone - Learn how to gather, organize, and share bibliographic citations, as well as create and add bibliographies to your papers. 

Carpenter Library | Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center | Contact Us