Medical Statistical Resources: Selected Disease/Condition-Specific Statistical Resources

Aging

• Administration on Aging - Statistics on the Aging Population
• AgingStats.gov - Federal Interagency Forum on Aging Related Statistics

Alzheimer's Disease

• FASTATS – Alzheimer’s Disease
• Alzheimer’s Disease Facts and Figures

Arthritis

• FASTATS - Arthritis  
• Arthritis Related Statistics
• MMWR  Projected State-Specific Increases in Self-Reported Doctor-Diagnosed Arthritis and Arthritis-Attributable Activity Limitations --- United States, 2005—2030

Asthma and Allergies

• FASTATS - Asthma
• CDC Asthma Data and Surveillance
• Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System  Prevalence Data, Asthma
• FASTATS – Allergies/Hay Fever

Birth Defects

• FASTATS - Birth Defects / Congenital Anomalies
• Birth Defects Data Available from the NC State Center for Health Statistics

Cancer

• FASTATS - Cancer
• American Cancer Society Statistics
• Where Can I Find Cancer Survival Statistics?
• National Cancer Institute Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results - (national, state and county level data)
• National Program of Cancer Registries
• Cancer Statistics, Trends and Multiple Primary Cancer Analyses from the Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Program   
• IARC Cancer Mondial

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

• FASTATS - Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)

Diabetes

• FASTATS - Diabetes
• American Diabetes Association  Diabetes Statistics (prevalence, complications, and costs of diabetes) 
• National Diabetes Statistics

Disability

• FASTATS - Disabilities/Limitations  
• Finding Disability Data on the Web
• American Factfinder  - search Disability
• ICDI Disability Tables

Epilepsy

• Epilepsy Foundation  Epilepsy and Seizure Statistics
• Neurological Disorders: Public Health Challenges

Hearing Loss and Deafness

• Demographic Aspects of Hearing Impairment - Gallaudet
• Statistics on Hearing, Balance, Ear Infections, and Deafness  - NIDCD

Heart Disease and Stroke

• American Heart Association
• FASTATS - Heart Disease
• FASTATS - Stroke/Cerebrovascular Disease
• Heart Disease and Stroke Statistics — 2012 Update

HIV/AIDS

• FASTATS - AIDS/HIV  
• HIV/AIDS Statistics and Surveillance
• Epidemiology in North Carolina - Communicable Disease Control / Statistics
• HIV / AIDS Surveillance - Basic Statistics
• HIV Surveillance - Epidemiology of HIV Infection (through 2010)
• Statehealthfacts.org provides state-by-state information about new and cumulative AIDS cases, AIDS case rates, persons living with AIDS, AIDS deaths, HIV infections, HIV testing statistics and policies,
• UNAIDS/WHO Global HIV/AIDS Online Database

Injuries and Accidents

• FARS Encyclopedia  
• FASTATS - Accidents / Unintentional Injuries
• CDC Injury Data and Resources - includes WISQARS, an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.
• Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Illnesses, Injuries and Fatalities provides data on illnesses and injuries on the job and data on worker fatalities.
• Traumatic Brain Injury in the United States

Mental Health and Substance Abuse

• FASTATS - Mental Health Disorders
• National Institute of Health Statistics
•  NIDA (National Institute on Drug Abuse)—trends and statistics
• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive

Overweight and Obesity

• Childhood Overweight and Obesity Prevention Initiative-Fact Sheet
• FASTATS - Overweight
• Statistics Related to Overweight and Obesity
• Overweight and Obesity Trends Among Adults
• The Obesity Society - Obesity Statistics
• What is the Scale of the Obesity Problem in Your Country? (WHO) 

Osteoporosis

• Bone Health and Osteoporosis: A Report of the Surgeon General
• Bone Health Basics
• Burden of Bone Disease
• FastStats - Osteoporosis
• International Osteoporosis Foundation  

Sexually Transmitted Infections

• CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases - Surveillance & Statistics
•  Facts & Figures: North Carolina HIV/STD Reports
• National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention State Report (PDF)

Tuberculosis

• Global Tuberculosis Report 2012
• North Carolina Tuberculosis Statistics  
• Tuberculosis - Data and Statistics
• Tuberculosis - Fact Sheet