Note: * indicates Carpenter Library subscription-based resources (off-campus will prompt for credentials)
*Biological Abstracts - includes citations and some abstracts from over 6500 international life sciences journals. Fields covered include: biology, botany, zoology, biotechnology, and environmental studies.
*Embase - A multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree.
Google Patents - All patents available through Google Patent Search come from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO-from patents issued in the 1790sthrough those most recently issued in the past few months. To date, the USPTO has made available approximately 7 million patents and over a million patent applications.
Google Scholar - Google Scholar searches peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
GraphPad Prism - a combination of basic biostatistics, curve fitting and scientific graphing in one program. Designed for the practical scientist, Prism does not expect you to be a statistician. It guides you through each analysis - giving you as much help as you need - and tracks and organizes your work.
iHOP - a network of concurring genes and proteins extends through the scientific literature touching on phenotypes, pathologies and gene function. iHOP provides this network as a natural way of accessing millions of PubMed abstracts. By using genes and proteins as hyperlinks between sentences and abstracts, the information in PubMed can be converted into one navigable resource, bringing all advantages of the internet to scientific literature research.
PubMed - Provides access to MEDLINE, a database of citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services within PubMed include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. PubMed also provides access to molecular biology databases in the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez retrieval system with components for searching DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes.
ResearchGate - ResearchGate is the world's largest professional network for scientists and researchers, with over 1.4 million users. Our online literature search provides researchers with more than 10millionfull texts freely downloadable from our site, the majority sourced from partnerships with open access databases and the remaining having been uploaded by the authors themselves. The extensive database also provides researchers with access to approximately 45million abstracts pulled from 7 of the largest databases (including PubMed, IEEE, and CiteSeer).
*Scopus - The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
*Web of Science - Contains three ISICitation Databases (Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences), which together index over 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Useful for searching databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Carpenter Library | Atrium Health/Wake Forest University School of Medicine | Contact Us