Skip to Main Content

EndNote

Reference management software available to associates of Atrium Baptist Wake Forest University

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a software program for PC or MAC that works with word processor documents (Microsoft Word, Apache OpenOffice, LibreOffice, or Google Docs), to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper bibliography lists for your manuscripts with your chosen style (APA, NIH, Vancouver, etc).  

EndNote can also be used as a personal database to gather and store citation records from a variety of information sources. Once developed, libraries can be synchronized between multiple computers, making it easy to collaborate with colleagues.

New to version 2025:

  • Get AI-gernerated insights from articles and PDFs quickly with the help of Key Takeaways,
  •  Get help finding the best journal match for your work using key elements of your manuscript.
  • Quickly insert a highlighted quote from a PDF and its corresponding citation into your document.
  • Enhanced find reference updates and find full text improvements.
  • Summary panel redisign makes it easy to see the important details of each article in an easy-to-read format with an organized summary and
  • Curate a more comprehensive reference library by viewing articles highly relevant to your work and finding papers that have cited your references

Visit Clarivate for more details.

EndNote Installation

EndNote logoStudents and researchers of Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist may download a copy of the EndNote™2025 software to their institutional computers and personal devices.

Choose a tab above to view directions on how to upload this program for your computer type.

 

 

[Note:  Atrium users will need to use the PC(personal tab) to install EndNote, since Atrium does not have access to WakeHealth Software Center.]

 

Icon with text Software Center Using the Software Center (Medical Center assigned computer)

  1.  Go to the Software Center located on your desktop.  If unable to locate, type Software into the Windows search pane graphic displaying windows icon and magnify glass (lower left corner). Choose Software Center App.
  2. Locate and click on the EndNote app. icon with letters EN
  3. Click on the Install button.  Do not power off or reboot the device while installation is running.
  4. Once the program is done installing, the button will change from "Install" to "Uninstall"
  5. Verify that EndNote has been loaded by going to your application list, and locating the EndNote folder in the app section.  
  6. This installation loads EndNote 2025.1. Administrative rights are NOT required to load this version.
  7. At a future time, EndNote may send out newer updates.  Admin rights ARE required to run all new updates. 
    Contact the HELP desk via the Service Now - Get Help  to have them grant privileges to run any future updates.

Using the Install file on a personal device

Before getting started,  Microsoft Office programs must be closed when running this installer.

  1. Click on this link -> ​zip icon EndNote 2025.1
     
  2. The .ZIP file folder page opens.
  3. Click ‘Download’ from the menu. (down arrow in upper left of the window)


    This next step is very important to follow:
  4. Once the file is downloaded, locate the downloaded zipped file. It is usually found in the Downloads folder.​​​​​​


    Right-click     (Do not double click) the EndNote 25 Installer zipped file and select “extract all”,

     
  5. Select a destination to save the files and then click extract to open the files
    [Note:  If you do not extract first, the license file will not be applied during program install. Users should never be asked to put in a license code at any point during the download.  If you do, be sure you are using Right Click as your extract method.  If still having issues, contact the library for additional help. ]
     
  6. From the extracted files, locate and run the installer file, EN2025Inst.  You will need to click on the program folder twice to get to the install file.

     
  7. Complete the remaining default steps to finish the EndNote setup.

 

Note: To all patrons using this method to download files. 
This installation loads EndNote 25.1. Administrative rights are NOT required to load this version.

For institutional computers, Admin rights ARE required to run all future updates. 
Contact the HELP desk via the Service Now - Get Help  to have them grant privileges to run these future updates.

 

 

Mac installation

**Close all other applications before running this install file. Other programs cannot be open or the installer will pause until all programs are closed.**

  1. Click on this link-> EndNote 2025 Mac
    If you are not located on campus during this install, you may be asked to authenticate.  If asked to choose, select  Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist and then enter your  Advocate email credentials.
  2. Once authenticated, you will be taken to the EndNote2025SiteInstaller.dmg download page.
  4. Click the Download arrow [upper right]... or..... Download button [lower right]
     
  5. Locate the downloaded file in the downloads folder.


     
  6. Double click on EndNote2025SiteInstaller.dmg to download the file, or Right click on file  >  Open

  7. The EndNote Installer frame opens, double click on the Install EndNote 2025 icon [middle of installer window]

     
  8. You may get a warning message that the app is downloaded from the internet.  Click Open.
     
  9. Installation frame opens.  Click on Install.
     
     
  10. Follow through the default Mac Install Instructions to complete the EndNote setup. 


    .
    NOTE: At one point during the Customizer windows, you may be asked to enter a user name and password, this is the computer credentials, NOT Medical Center credentials.

     

EndNote opens and displays frame to open an existing library or a new one. 

Note:

If this choice does not appear, instead you only see the background image, see next image:

Look at the top of the window, you should see the EndNote menu along top of page. (EndNote 2025)

On menu:
File  >  New, choose file location and name  or
File  >  Open Library [Shared or Recent] to open libraries that exist already.

 

Support and Training

Support

  • For help and troubleshooting EndNote, contact Kim McBride via Ask Us.
  • Alternatively, contact the Clarivate (EndNote vendor) support line Mon-Fri 9 am to 8 pm EST at
    855-258-5858, choices = 2,1,1

Training - Carpenter Library

 

Still have questions, see our FAQ page for previous asked questions.

Useful Links

Here are some useful quick informational and tutorial links:

Be sure to use the Carpenter Library webpage when accessing Databases and our LibGuide for more details:

There are two versions of EndNote online.

Clarivate, which produces the software EndNote, provides some good introductory videos. 

Quick tutorial videos -- by EndNote version:

The makers of EndNote offer more training options and support:

 

EndNote Click

EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and (where possible) your university's subscriptions to find the best version of the paper for you.

  • This plugin is free and the basic account comes with 100mb storage.  To upgrade free to the Premium Account  (and 2 GB locker storage) use the Carpenter Library affiliate link for EndNote Click.

EndNote click can be added to a browser window via an extension.  When a search of a database is performed, a purple icon (View PDF) will appear next to citations that are available to add to your EndNote Click locker.

When you hoover over the View PDF icon, the following menu is available:

To learn more about EndNote Click, visit the Clarivate page - EndNote Click: What is EndNote Click and how do I use it?

 

NOTE:  PDFs can still be accessed using the WFU Full Text icon that displays on the right side of an article page.

 

 

EndNote Output Styles

When the required Output style is not displaying or available from EndNote, access to more than 6000 output styles are available for download on the EndNote Output Style page.

Carpenter Library | Atrium Health/Wake Forest University School of Medicine | Contact Us