EndNote

EndNote 2025 will be released in the near future. The corresponding installation files will be made available in the designated section upon completion. 

Check back soon for more information.

EndNote is a software program for PC or MAC that works with word processor documents (Microsoft Word, Apache OpenOffice, LibreOffice, or Google Docs), to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper bibliography lists for your manuscripts with your chosen style (APA, NIH, Vancouver, etc).  

EndNote can also be used as a personal database to gather and store citation records from a variety of information sources. Once developed, libraries can be synchronized between multiple computers, making it easy to collaborate with colleagues.

New to version 2025:

• Get AI-gernerated insights from articles and PDFs quickly with the help of Key Takeaways,
•  Get help finding the best journal match for your work using key elements of your manuscript.
• Quickly insert a highlighted quote from a PDF and its corresponding citation into your document.
• Enhanced find reference updates and find full text improvements.
• Summary panel redisign makes it easy to see the important details of each article in an easy-to-read format with an organized summary and
• Curate a more comprehensive reference library by viewing articles highly relevant to your work and finding papers that have cited your references

Visit Clarivate for more details.

Support

• For help and troubleshooting EndNote, contact Kim McBride via Ask Us.
• Alternatively, contact the Clarivate (EndNote vendor) support line Mon-Fri 9 am to 8 pm EST at
  855-258-5858, choices = 2,1,1

Training - Carpenter Library

• Request EndNote Instruction
• EndNote 21 tutorial created by Carpenter Library- Articulate Rise EndNote21 Basics
• See more training options in the next group below.

Still have questions, see our FAQ page for previous asked questions.

Here are some useful quick informational and tutorial links:

Be sure to use the Carpenter Library webpage when accessing Databases and our Libguide for more details:

• Library Website https://school.wakehealth.edu/carpenter-library
• EndNote Libguide  https://libguides.wakehealth.edu/EndNote

There are two versions of EndNote online.

• EndNote Online (Endnote20)  https://www.myendnoteweb.com/
• EndNote Online (EndNote21)  https://web.endnote.com/

Clarivate, which produces the software EndNote, provides some good introductory videos. 

Quick tutorial videos -- by EndNote version:

• How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: Windows  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wg613wuctoM&t=6s
• How to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes: macOS  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUmAWEW6pBc&t=205s
• How to use EndNote 21 in seven minutes: Windows  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TryrAvULs3Q
• How to use EndNote 21 in seven minutes: macOS  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgY3j7Kd5f8
• More videos at: https://www.youtube.com/@EndNoteTraining/videos

The makers of EndNote offer more training options and support:

• Clarivate Learning   https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/support/endnote/
• Clarivate Support   https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/?language=en_US

New to EndNote 21

EndNote Click is a free browser plugin that finds the best available PDF of an academic article while you browse. Behind the scenes, EndNote Click will search open databases and (where possible) your university's subscriptions to find the best version of the paper for you.

• This plugin is free and the basic account comes with 100mb storage.  To upgrade free to the Premium Account  (and 2 GB locker storage) use the Carpenter Library affiliate link for EndNote Click.

EndNote click can be added to a browser window via an extension.  When a search of a database is performed, a purple icon (View PDF) will appear next to citations that are available to add to your EndNote Click locker.

When you hoover over the View PDF icon, the following menu is available:

To learn more about EndNote Click, visit the Clarivate page - EndNote Click: What is EndNote Click and how do I use it?

NOTE:  PDFs can still be accessed using the WFU Full Text icon that displays on the right side of an article page.

EndNote Output Styles

When the required Output style is not displaying or available from EndNote, access to more than 6000 output styles are available for download on the EndNote Output Style page.