In addition to MEDLINE and EMBASE, which are generally considered to be the key international general healthcare databases, many countries and regions produce electronic bibliographic databases that concentrate on the literature produced in those regions, and which often include journals and other literature not indexed elsewhere. Access to many of these databases is available free of charge on the internet. Others are only available by subscription or on a ‘pay-as-you-go’ basis.
Africa: African Index Medicus
Australia: Australasian Medical Index (fee-based)
China: Chinese Biomedical Literature database (in Chinese)
Eastern Mediterranean:Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterreanian region
Europe: PASCAL (fee-based)
Latin America and the Caribbean: LILACS
South-East Asia: Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR)
Ukraine and the Russian Federation: Panteleimon
Western Pacific: Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM)
PsycInfo covers professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Biology and pharmacology
Nursing and allied health
Social and community health and welfare
Social science, education, psychology and psychiatry
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) serves as the most comprehensive source of reports of controlled trials and is updated quarterly. CENTRAL contains nearly 530,000 citations of which 310,000 trial reports are from MEDLINE, 50,000 additional trial reports are from EMBASE and the remaining 170,000 are from other sources such as other databases and handsearching.
Carpenter Library | Atrium Health/Wake Forest University School of Medicine | Contact Us