Knowledge Guides: Nursing Research: Resources

Nursing Ebook Collection

Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database. It covers international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Medline (Pubmed) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive evidence-based resources at the point of care for:
Medication Management; Disease and Condition Management; Toxicology Management and more.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine and more including 70 topics such as cytology, pharmacology, nutrition and radiology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Citation Management Software

1. EndNote

EndNote is a software program for PC or MAC that works with Microsoft Word to automatically format in-text citations and end-of-paper bibliography lists for your manuscripts with your chosen style (APA, NIH, Vancouver, etc). EndNote can also be used as a personal database to gather and store citation records from a variety of information sources.

The Medical Center offers a free site license copy of the current desktop version of EndNote to all faculty, staff and students for installation on medical center computers or on personal (including home) computers.

For more info and download instructions, see the EndNote Knowledge Guide

2. Zotero

Zotero is free citation management software used to collect, organize, share, and cite research.

Sign up at https://www.zotero.org/