Advanced Practice Professionals: Books and Journals

The AANA Journal is the official scholarly journal of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. Published bimonthly, the AANA Journal delivers practical clinical information that fosters the understanding of the science of anesthesia delivery and investigates ideas, issues and innovations that advance the practice of nurse anesthesia.

AACN Advanced Critical Care is a quarterly, peer-reviewed publication of in-depth articles intended for experienced critical care and acute care clinicians at the bedside, advanced practice nurses, and clinical and academic educators. Each issue includes a topic-based symposium, feature articles, and columns of interest to critical care and progressive care clinicians. Continuing education units are available for selected articles in each issue.

Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal is a peer-reviewed journal designed to meet the needs of advanced practice clinicians, clinical nurse specialists, nurse practitioners, healthcare professionals, and clinical and academic educators in emergency nursing. Articles contain evidence- based material that can be applied to daily practice. Continuing Education opportunities are available in each issue.

Anesthesiology is the official Journal of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. Anesthesiology is widely regarded as the preeminent scientific journal in the specialty. This is evidenced not just by its size and circulation, but by its "Impact Factor", a number which estimates the number of times the average journal article is quoted by other authors. It is also indexed as a "core" journal by the National Library of Medicine.

The Clinical Advisor is a monthly journal for nurse practitioners and physician assistants in primary care. Its mission is to keep practitioners up to date with the latest information about diagnosing, treating, managing, and preventing conditions seen in a typical office-based primary-care setting.

Clinical Nurse Specialist™ addresses the practice of clinical nurse specialists in diagnosis and treatment to prevent, remediate, or alleviate illness/suffering and promote health within defined populations -- regardless of specialty. Special sections include pharmacology consult, entrepreneurship, technology for practice, books-at-a-glance, and legislative/regulatory updates. And now, readers can use this journal as a convenient means of acquiring CE contact hours in the following areas: research ethics, AIDS, child and adolescent psychiatry, computers, and critical care.

Clinician Reviews is written for NPs and PAs, by PAs and NPs, covering topics of vital interest to health care practitioners. The clinical content covers a broad range of primary care topics. Each issue contains accredited CE/CME activity; dermatology, radiology, and ECG clinical quizzes; and case presentations. Nonclinical content offers topics such as medical malpractice, professional news, health care legislation, and practice management.

This reader-friendly, bimonthly resource provides the most important advances from throughout the world literature focusing exclusively on one to three topics. Invited reviews cover key subjects such as cardiovascular anaesthesia, thoracic anaesthesia, intensive care, resuscitation and trauma anaesthesia, and ethics, economics and outcome.

This bimonthly resource provides perspectives on the most important advances covering subjects such as the respiratory system; neuroscience; cardiopulmonary resuscitation; the surgical patient; trauma; and infectious diseases.

The Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (JAANP), an official, scholarly, peer-reviewed journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, offers timely and original articles addressing clinical practice, clinical management, health policy, research, education, and other issues affecting NPs and other primary, acute and/or long-term health care providers.

The Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (JAAPA) is a peer-reviewed forum dedicated to education and the advancement of the PA profession. The goal of the Journal is to improve health care by publishing current information and research on clinical care, education, health policy, and professional issues. The Journal is the official scientific publication of the American Academy of Physician Assistants.

JNP: The Journal for Nurse Practitioners offers high-quality, peer-reviewed clinical articles, original research, continuing education, and departments that help practitioners excel as providers of primary and acute care across the lifespan.

The Journal of Advanced Nursing (JAN) contributes to the advancement of evidence-based nursing, midwifery and healthcare by disseminating high quality research and scholarship of contemporary relevance and with potential to advance knowledge for practice, education, management or policy.

The Journal of Interprofessional Care disseminates research and new developments in the field of interprofessional education and practice. Areas of practice covered include primary, community and hospital care, health education and public health, and beyond health and social care into fields such as criminal justice and primary/elementary education.

The Journal of Pediatric Health Care, the official journal of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, provides up-to-date clinical information and research findings regarding primary, acute and specialty health care for children of newborn age through young adulthood within a family-centered context.

The mission of the Journal of the Advanced Practitioner in Oncology (JADPRO) is to improve the quality of care for patients with cancer, support critical issues in advanced practice in oncology and recognize the expanding contributions of advanced practitioners in oncology.

The Nurse Practitioner provides practical, cutting-edge clinical and professional information by experts in the field, and supports nurse practitioners in their pursuit of professional excellence through continuing education offerings. The Nurse Practitioner also provides a forum to discuss and strengthen their role in health care delivery.

Women’s Healthcare: A Clinical Journal for NPs is a comprehensive peer-reviewed journal written by thought-leaders in the Nurse Practitioner community about relevant topics specific to women’s health topics. The journal will provide vital clinical data, information, news and insight from authoritative experts that will enhance patient care and provide NPs with a wide variety of information ranging from clinical to policy and best practices.