Clinical Resources: Clinical Tools

ACP Journal Club Archives is a collection of articles and editorials from ACP Journal Club published between January 1991 and April 2008 when it was a bimonthly stand-alone journal. Since May 2008, ACP Journal Club has been published as a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine that summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. Research staff and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published, and a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies.

Cochrane exists so that healthcare decisions get better. During the past 20 years, Cochrane has helped to transform the way health decisions are made. We gather and summarize the best health evidence from research to help you make informed choices about treatment. Cochrane is for anyone who is interested in using high-quality information to make health decisions. Whether you are a doctor or nurse, patient or carer, researcher or funder, Cochrane health evidence provides a powerful tool to enhance your healthcare knowledge and decision making.

To prepare each Natural Medicines monograph, electronic searches are conducted in many databases.All literature is collected pertaining to efficacy in humans (regardless of study design, quality, or language), dosing, precautions, adverse effects, use in pregnancy/lactation, interactions, alteration of laboratory assays, and mechanism of action (in vitro, animal research, human data). Data extraction and analysis are performed by health care professionals conducting clinical work and/or research at academic centers, using standardized instruments that pertain to each monograph section (defining inclusion/exclusion criteria and analytic techniques, including validated measures of study quality). Data are verified by a second reviewer. Natural Medicines regularly monitors scientific literature and industry warnings. When clinically relevant new data emerge, best efforts are made to update content immediately. In addition, regular updates with renewed searches occur every 3-18 months, variable by topic.

publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content

Provides access to MEDLINE, a database of citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services within PubMed include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. PubMed also provides access to molecular biology databases in the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez retrieval system with components for searching DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes.

The PubMed Clinical Queries Page is designed to filter one search by three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics. Click on the Clinical Queries link below PubMed Tools on the main search page.

More than 1.7 million clinicians in 190+ countries rely on UpToDate® to make the best care decisions and stay abreast of contemporary standards in the workflow and on-the-go.